Canastota, Chittenango win cross country meets

Beginning its work in the Center State Conference, both of Canastota's cross country teams strung together sweeps against three different opponents last Wednesday afternoon.

Allison Lasnicki led the way again for the girls Raiders, who beat Remsen 22-34 and Poland 16-47, and also swept through Herkimer.

Lasnicki finished in 19 minutes, 18 seconds on the Remsen course, nearly two minutes ahead of the pack. Francesca Popple, in 21 minutes flat, held off Marissa Williams (21:02) for second place, with Britney Goodwin fifth in 22:24.

Up in the boys meet, Canastota routed both Poland (17-40) and Herkimer (19-38) as it also beat an incomplete Remsen squad.

Zach Skolnick, with a winning time of 17 minutes, 51 seconds, led a 1-2-3 sweep at the top with Alex Spara and Aaron Walker in the runner-up spots just one second behind Skolnick. Erick Wells was sixth (19:25) and Frank Slaunwhite was eighth in 19:33.

As this was going on, Chittenango moved to 2-0 on the season by taking out Cortland last Wednesday afternoon by equal 15-50 margins.

In the boys race, Josiah Durfee ran with Cliff Reals, each of them finishing in 18 minutes 52 seconds as the Bears swept the top seven positions.

Kevin Carr took third place, in 19:28, three seconds ahead of Bruce Gondeck (19:31). Jason Ceresoli was fifth, in 19:33, while Tyler Howard claimed sixth place (19:56) and Jason Murray was seventh in 19:57. Greg Foster ran to ninth place in 20:55.

Meanwhile, in the girls race, Chittenango also blanketed the top five, with Hannah Murphy at the helm as she crossed the finish line in 22 minutes, 43 seconds.

Becka Sager was second, in 23:35, while Jordan Donnelly got third place in 23:48. Kelly Anderson was fourth (23:58) and Alissa Levens-Freeman ran to fifth place with a clocking of 24:42. Further down the list, Hillary Courtwright claimed seventh place in 24:59.

On Saturday, Chittenango is the host school for an invitational at Jamesville Beach State Park, where the Section III championships will again be contested later this fall -- Nov. 7, to be precise.

Vote on this Story by clicking on the Icon


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment