ESM, J-D runners win league openers

Again situated in the same OHSL Freedom division, the Jamesville-DeWitt and East Syracuse-Minoa cross country teams began the 2009 season on Wednesday with equally smashing results.

In fact, the scores were exactly the same -- a perfect 15-50 verdict on the boys and girls sides for the Red Rams against Fowler at Burnet Park, and the Spartans against Cortland on its home Pine Grove course.

J-D saw returning star Bumkoth Jiak speed through Burnet Park in 17 minutes, four seconds, nearly a minute ahead of Dan Driscoll, who was second in 17:52.

Eamon Kissane was third, in 18:46, one second ahead of Max Smith, with John Lenish (19:06) rounding out a top-five sweep. Jack Healy landed in seventh place in 19:13, ahead of a J-D group that included Jacob Gorke (19:25), Dan Frank (20:25) and Alex Wilmot (20:42).

All of the Red Rams' girls runners stayed together as a group, so as the top five got separated by just two seconds. Rebecca Doss won, in 24:07, with Ameena Dye and Shelby Weinstein sharing second place (24:08), plus Eileen Cody and Katie Pinkes finishign in 24:09.

In the next pack, Grace Bradshaw glided to a time of 24:45, with Paige Morrow seventh in 24:48. Mark Pinkes (25:11) and Avery Share (25:48) were close behind.

While this was going on, ESM's Meghan Visser made her first race of the season a memorable won, hitting the finish line of the girls race against Cortland in 21:02.

Amanda Crandall was second, in 24:12, more than three minutes behind, with Alyssa Passett third (24:45), Nicole Verrone fourth (24:54) and Mallory Martino fifth in 25:02. Marissa Kite took sixth place, in 25:06, ahead of Angela Shaw (25:18), Elizabeth VanDeusen (25:34) and Amy Barkauskas (31:45).

ESM's boys team earned all of the top eight spots at Pine Grove against the Purple Tigers, led by Mike Coogan and his winning time of 18:04, which was 40 seconds clear of Pete Ferstler.

Andrew Troast rolled to third place (19:06), with Louis Ferrone fourth (19:22) and Kevin Rogers fifth in 19:36. Craig Andrianos and Matt Lyons ran together, each finishing in 19:44 as Paul Schneible hit eighth place, one second behind them.

In separate divisions, ESM and J-D will compete Saturday at the Vernon Verona Sherrill Invitational, on the site of the 2011 state championships.

Vote on this Story by clicking on the Icon


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment