St. Joes re-designated blue distinction for cardiac

To be designated as a Blue Distinction Center for Cardiac Care, St. Joe's met the selection criteria posted at www.BCBS.com, which includes:

an established cardiac care program, performing required annual volumes for certain procedures (e.g. a minimum of 125 cardiac surgical procedures annually, including both CABG and/or valve surgery)

appropriate experience of its cardiac team, including sub-specialty board certification for interventional cardiologists and cardiac surgeons

an established acute care inpatient facility, including intensive care, emergency and a full range of cardiac services

full accreditation by The Joint Commission, Healthcare Facilities Accreditation Program (HFAP) or national equivalent**

low overall complication and mortality rates

a comprehensive quality management program

Blue Distinction is a designation awarded by Blue Cross and Blue Shield companies to medical facilities that have demonstrated expertise in delivering quality healthcare.

The designation is based on rigorous, evidence-based selection criteria established in collaboration with expert physicians' and medical organizations' recommendations. Today, more than 800 Blue Distinction Center designations have been awarded to facilities nationwide, providing consumers with a framework for making informed decisions on where to go for specialty care in the areas of bariatric surgery, cardiac care, complex and rare cancers, and transplants.

Vote on this Story by clicking on the Icon


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment