Republicans take councilor seats in DeWitt

Republicans Tony Albanese, Brian Schultz and incumbent Irene Scruton won the councilor seats, ousting incumbent Democrat Lorene McCoy-Dady and turning away newcomers and Democrats Sylvia Matousek and David Babikian.

Supervisor Ed Michalenko (Democrat), who ran for reelection unopposed brought in a total of 4,162 votes. Bob Jokl won against Sam Young for Town Justice by 55.4 percent.

Vote count as of 11:30 p.m. Election night:

Town Justice

Bob Jokl (Republican) 2,911 (55.4 percent)

Sam Young (Democrat) 2,342 (44.5 percent)

Town Councilor

Tony Albanese (Republican) 2,810 18.1 percent

Brian Schultz (Republican) 2,791 18 percent

Irene Scruton (Republican) 2,680 17.3 percent

Lorene McCoy-Dadey (Democrat) 2,577 (16.6 percent)

Sylvia Matousek (Democrat) 2,305 14.9 percent)

David Babikian (Democrat) 2,301 14.8 percent

Vote on this Story by clicking on the Icon


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment