Marcellus voters keep Ross, choose new board member

Voters in the town of Marcellus have chosen incumbent Supervisor Dan Ross over challenger Robert Dingman.

The town board will have one new councilor. Incumbent councilor Tom Lathrop and newcomer Kevin O'Hara were chosen over incumbent Bernie Montgomery and Democrat challenger William Burnette. Kathleen Carroll received 223 votes on the Indepednce line, though she dropped out of the race in September.

Montgomery, who was not endorsed by the Republican party for the first time in nearly 10 years, challenged endorsed candidate Kathleen Carroll in a primary in September and defeated Carroll to run on the Republican line in today's election.

Highway Superintendent Donald MacLachlan easily won re-election with 1,299 votes, over challenger Chris Howlett, with 338.

Incumbent Town Clerk Karen Pollard received 1,629 votes, and incumbent Tax Collector Elaine Potter received 1,632 votes. Neither races were challenged.

Here are the unofficial results of the challenged races in Marcellus:


Daniel Ross, (incumbent)1,005

Robert Dingman595


Tom Lathrop, (incumbent)1,056

Kevin O'Hara847

Bernie Montgomery, (incumbent)690

William Burnette425

Highway Superintendent

Donald MacLachlan, (incumbent)1,299

Chris Howlett338

Vote on this Story by clicking on the Icon


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment