MCS News and Notes: Students go "Nuts" at KCH

Glisson's grant proposal was titled "Acquiring the Master Teacher Mindset." This professional development grant is providing partial funding for a study group initiative for teachers who address the needs of seventh through twelfth grade students who receive Academic Intervention Services instruction. In a series of nine collaborative workshop sessions, study group members will take a critical look at their instructional methodologies, examine the research on best practice instructional strategies, and progress to incorporate the most effective instructional strategies for improving outcomes for their students who receive Academic Intervention Services.

Robyn R. Jackson's publication, "Never Work Harder Than Your Students and Other Principles of Great Teaching," will serve as the basis for the master teacher mindset and in facilitating teachers in their quest toward "getting it." Additionally, group members will participate in "Grand Rounds" observation sessions.

Senior Ball 2009 a safe, successful weekend

The Senior Ball weekend at Marcellus Senior High School brought not only the joy of the Senior Ball itself but a variety of activities designed to enhance both the enjoyment and the safety of all those who participated.

The weekend began on Friday, May 15, with the senior breakfast at the high school cafeteria. John Durkee, Marcellus Senior High School principal, welcomed the Class of 2009 to a delicious breakfast sponsored and provided by the Marcellus After the Ball Party committee. Durkee also honored Class of 2009 "Honors Graduates" as he called each honoree forward to be recognized. Class of 2009 honors graduates include Carly Annable, Caragh Barry, Vaughn Bentley, Corey Bice, Ellen Brayer, Claire Britt, Chloe Brittenham, Andy Brooks, Gina Cardarelli, Lindsay Carroll, Noah Clark, Kara Conley, Erin Corcoran, Vicki Daoust, David Deyo, Megan DiBartolomeo, Tyler Fish, Alayna Fuess, Kate Gosson, Kevin Guenthner, Alexandra Hess, Caitrin Hickey, Evan Hughes, Liz Keegan, Greg Kelly, Jacob Kittelberger, Brenna Landerkin, Kelsey Madden, Shawn Malloy, John Marrs, Chris Martin, Allison Mullan Stout, Stephanie O'Rourke, Hunter Potter, Daniel Schmidt, Alexandra Schoeneck, Hannah Weeks, and Johnna Wiley. Members of the After the Ball Party committee then called out names, in game show fashion, as they distributed "after the ball party" money to the Class of 2009. Later in the day seniors had the opportunity to take a walk down memory lane as they attended a luncheon held in the K.C. Heffernan Elementary School Library. As class members feasted on pizza and salad a slide show of their years at Heffernan played on the library walls and "class picture" place mats graced the table settings. Students also had the opportunity to visit their elementary classrooms and teachers for one last goodbye to their years at KCH. Saturday's festivities began with the annual "classic car" reception and parade. Students and families had the opportunity for Senior Ball photos taken by Midgley Photography and each couple was chauffeured to the dance in a classic car. Following the Senior Ball, held at the Empire Room at the New York State Fair Grounds, couples were once again chauffeured in a classic car, this time to the "after the ball" party held at the Ultimate Goal. Food and games wrapped in a Willie Wonka and the Chocolate Factory theme awaited students at the Ultimate Goal and partygoers were able to cash in their winnings for prizes such as televisions, CD players, DVD players, dorm refrigerators, Microwaves, iPods, and Gift Certificates. The Marcellus Central School District would like to express its sincere appreciation to the After the Ball Party committee chairpersons for the tireless efforts in providing for the safety and entertainment of the Class of 2009. After the Ball Committee Chairpersons are listed below:

Vote on this Story by clicking on the Icon


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment