School budgets pass, new board members elected

Voters in the East Syracuse-Minoa, Jamesville-DeWitt and Fayetteville-Manlius school districts approved the budgets for 2009-10.

East Syracuse budget: $69.75 million with 886 in favor and 418 against. Voters also approved the proposition 914 to 382 for the purchase of three school buses to cost no more than $324,000 as well as a $135,000 tax levy for the East Syracuse Free Library.

Incumbents Dominic Muscolino and Kevin Burke, who ran unopposed, were reelected. Muscolino received 1,082 votes, Burke received 1,065.

Fayetteville-Manlius budget: $73.5 million with a final vote not yet counted due to absentee ballots.

F-M voters also passed the bus and Fayetteville Free and Manlius libraries propositions.

Incumbent Dawn Cottrell lost her seat on the board after serving almost 30 years. Elected were incumbent Ilene Mendel and newcomers Lisa Izant and Marissa Mims.

Jamesville-DeWitt budget: $47 million, 803 to 311

Voters also approved the purchase of three new buses for no more than $283,430 as well as the DeWitt Community Library tax levy of $1.13 million.

Incumbents Jill Walsh and Jack McLoughlin were reelected to the school board, but incumbent Julie Comanici lost with 543 votes. Newcomer Mark Schulman won the seat with almost 700 votes.

Vote on this Story by clicking on the Icon


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment