Syracuse International Film Festival Awards

The Syracuse International Film Festival nnounced this year's award winners last night at The MOST downtown. Scroll down to see the video from that event.

All-festival annual awards went first to:

Lifetime Achievement - Gina Vittorio Baldi

Special tribute and four-film retrospective - Rob Nilsson

Friend of the Festival: Tom Bower, 2009 Jury Chair and new Honorary Festival Board Chair

Best Feature Fiction:

TABLEAU (Hungary)


LE RING (Quebec, Canada)

MATAR a TODOS (Uruguay)


Special Judges Citation: GYMPL (Czech Republic)

Artistic Director's Citations (Selected by Owen Shapiro:

For innovation in story telling: E.M.E.T (Israel) by Yaron Allouche

For epic and historic breadth: UNITED RED ARMY (Japan) by Koji Wakamatsu

Best Directing:

EXHAUSTED (Korea) Gok Kim

TABLEAU (Hungary) Gabor Dettre

LE RING (Quebec, Canada) Ana s Barbeau-Lavalette

MATAR a TODOS (Uruguay) Esteban Schroeder

Winner: Gok Kim for EXHAUSTED

Best Actress:

THE PRIESTESS (Armenia) Rouzan Vit Mesropyan

MATAR a TODOS (Uruguay) Roxana Blanco

THE PUPPETER OF HAVANA (Germany/Cuba) Olga Lidia Alfonso

EXHAUSTED (Korea) Liu Jang

SHADOWS (Macedonia) Vesna Stanojevska

Winner: Liu Jang for EXHAUSTED

Special Judges Citation: Roxana Blanco for MATAR a TODOS

Best Actor

LE RING (Canada) Maxime Desjardins-Tremblay

GYMPL (Czech Republic) Tomas Vorel Jr.

EXHAUSTED (Korea) Guen-young Oh

SHADOWS (Macedonia) Borce Nacev

THE HIDE (England) Alex Mac Queen

Split Winners: Maxime Desjardins-Tremblay for LE RING and Alex Mac Queen for THE HIDE

Best Screenplay:

EXHAUSTED (Korea) Gok Kim

TABLEAU (Hungary) Gabor Dettre and Akos Kertesz

LE RING (Quebec, Canada) Renee Beaulieu

MATAR a TODOS (Uruguay) Daniel Henriques, Alejandra Marino, Pablo Vierci

Winner: Gabor Dettre and Akos Kertesz for TABLEAU

Best Cinematography:

GYMPL (Czech Republic) Marek Jicha

THE HIDE (England) George Richmond

HOW TO LIVE ON EARTH (Korea) Tak-jun Choi

FASHION (India) Mahesh Limaye

SHADOWS (Macedonia) Fabio Cianchetti

Winner: George Richmond for THE HIDE

Special Judges Citation: Sang-joon Kwon for EXHAUSTED

Vote on this Story by clicking on the Icon


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment