Skaneateles: Committee to review comprehensive plan

The town of Skaneateles has a new Comprehensive Plan Review Committee.

The town board approved the appointments of the nine-member committee during its regular meeting Thursday June 18.

Councilwoman Nancy Murray said it seems like a large number for a committee and Supervisor Phil Tierney agreed to a point, saying he thinks a seven-person committee is better, but a wide range of thoughts and ideas is good to have.

"If you broaden the committee you have more diversity," he said, adding the committee is diverse in gender, organizations and locations within the town.

According to Councilman David Laxton, the committee represents many people. He said the committee that had been appointed before was also a large number, but the group then broke into subcommittees to study various aspects of the town.

The board is anticipating the committee will meet with the town's planner, Howard Brodsky, to develop a scope of work, such as ways to include the community in the planning process.

The committee will largely determine how much Brodsky is used in the review process, Tierney said. The committee will also need to consider the budget when consulting with the planner.

According to a memo sent from Tierney to the board, the committee should develop a draft comprehensive plan amendment, which will then be submitted to the planning board for review and comments. The committee should incorporate the planning board's comments into a final draft plan.

The draft would then need to be submitted to the town board for consideration so they can approve a plan in 2010.

The board approved the appointments and named resident Robert Lotkowictz as the chair of the committee due to his experience with the comprehensive plan as a past member of the planning board. According to Tierney, Lotkowictz's background provides his with the tools to function as committee chair.

The nine-person committee includes:

* Thomas Bersani -- East Lake Road

* Dessa C. Bergen -- Tri-County Skaneateles Lake Pure Water Association, Inc.

* Sue Dove -- Chamber of Commerce

* Robert Eggleston -- Architect, Skaneateles Falls

* Robert Lotkowictz -- Thornton Grove

* Jessica Millman -- Graduate degree in land use and environmental planning and a village resident

* Ken Richards -- Agricultural community

* Irene Stafford -- School board

* Ken Scott -- Shepard Settlement Neighborhood Association

Vote on this Story by clicking on the Icon


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment