Caz mayor makes new appointments

At the village board meeting July 6, the first meeting for new trustees Peggy Van Arnam and Amy Mann, Mayor Thomas Dougherty made several appointments for the year.

Trustee Kurt Wheeler was named deputy mayor as well as village code committee chairman; buildings, streets, sidewalks and utilities chair; and lake watershed committee member.

Trustee Rich Huftalen was named fire commissioner and Cazenovia Area Community Development Association representative.

Trustee Peggy Van Arnam was placed in charge of water and sewer for the village.

Trustee Amy Mann was appointed to parks development, trees, cemetery and youth recreation. She was also made a lake watershed committee member.

Mayor Dougherty was appointed police commissioner.

Anne McDowell was named a village planning board member, a five-year appointment.

Betsy Moore was named village historic preservation/architectural advisory review committee member, also a five-year appointment.

Dougherty made the following 1-year appointments: Susan M. Dady, deputy village clerk-treasurer; Maribeth Pavelchak, part-time clerk to the justice; William L. Carr, superintendent of public works, zoning officer and building codes inspector; James T. Stokes, village attorney and designated legal services; Samuel D. Usborne, street crew chief; Charles Seager, water superintendent; Jeffrey L. Hughes, superintendent of cemetery; Timothy A. Moore, acting village justice; and PLS Engineering and Dunn & Scromo Engineering, village engineers.

Vote on this Story by clicking on the Icon


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment