J-D/CBA swimmers rip Fulton; F-M beaten

Hitting the heart of its schedule, the Jamesville-DeWitt/CBA boys swim team had plenty of talent on hand for last Tuesday's match against Fulton, breezing to a 95-74 victory over the Red Raiders to move to 5-1 on the season.

Eric Jorgensen began his meet by needing 2:08.58 to prevail in the 200 individual medley. He later flirted with breaking the five-minute mark in the 500 freestyle before settling for a victory in a time of 5:00.86.

Tyghe Speidel gave the Red Rams a pair of individual titles, following up a win in the 200 freestyle (1:53.38) by ripping to victory in the 100 backstroke in 1:01.42.

Speidel also took part in both of J-D/CBA's winning relays. In the 200 medley relay, Speidel, Scott Thieke, Allen Runions and Zach Shaw prevailed in 1:50.68. Over in the 200 freestyle relay, Speidel helped Matt Kopp, Ryan Smith and Max Devesty as the Rams won in 1:39.99.

Runions proved successful in the 50 freestyle (24.19 seconds), while Shawn Thieke earned 195.55 points in diving. Dan DeBottis had a top time of 1:13.01 in the 100 breaststroke.

As this was going on, Fayetteville-Manlius could not keep Oswego from rallying past them, 93-92, in a meet rescheduled from a Dec. 17 snow postponement.

It all started fine, as Kevin Koh, Will Twichell, Ryan Kelley and Jack Robinson combined to take the 200 medley relay in 1:50.65 and Koh, on his own, won the 200 freestyle in 1:55.55, edging the Buccaneers' Reeve Callen by 0.11 second.

Later in the meet, Koh would add a second title, in the 100 butterfly (56.31 seconds), while Kelley earned first place in the 100 breaststroke in 1:06.12. And in the 200 freestyle relay, Kelley, Koh, Twichell and Ryan Mobley won in 1:43.17.

Robinson earned a pair of individual titles, needing 2:14.84 to prevail in the 200 individual medley and swimming the 100 backstroke in 59.41 seconds.

Despite all this, Oswego earned many place spots for points, staying close, then prevailing when, in the closing 400 freestyle relay, Callen, Luke Familo, Drake Becksted and Henrik Ehrhardt won in 3:41.90.

Vote on this Story by clicking on the Icon


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment