City of Oneida employees honored with service awards

City of Oneida Mayor Peter Hedglon announced the honorees that would receive service awards at the employee picnic Wednesday Aug. 19. City clerk Sue Pulverenti and Deputy Mayor Max Smith coordinated the event, which ahs become and annual event created to recognize city employees for hard work and years of service to the Oneida.

Smith and the Oneida City Common council cooked a chicken barbecue, while city department heads provided desserts for all that attended. Several donations from Marty Winchell of Thompson Appliances and the Oneida Savings Bank made the vent possible.

Each year, this event is sponsored by the mayor and the common council in efforts to show appreciation for all city employees.

"It gives me great pride to see the number of employees with such longevity," Mayor Hedglon said. "It is the people that make the difference, and the city has a great team who work together to provide the best service possible to our community."

Five years of service to the city:

Firefighter Charles Kazlauskas

Telephone operator Sherri Stannard

Account clerk Patricia Meakin

Auto repair worker Steven Meyers

WWTP operator David Niles

WWTP operator Myron Thurston

Meter reader and service worker Paul Hummel

Ten years of service to the city:

Fire Lieutenant Robert Cowles

Police officer Shawn Gwilt

Police officer John Paul

Clerk Tanya Pifer

Assistant code enforcement officer Albert Wagner

Water maintenance worker James Mariani

Water maintenance worker Brian Wean

Account clerk Darleen Scholl

Fifteen years of service to the city:

Motor equipment operator Scott Hoffmeister

WWTP operator Rennie Carroll

Senior water maintenance works Anthony Carinci

Twenty years of service to the city:

Deputy Fire Chief Mike Whipple

Police Lieutenant Francis Emmerich

Police Lieutenant Paul Thompson

Police officer Joseph Krawiec

Motor vehicle operator Ransom Domes

Crew leader Derek Person

Motor equipment operator Douglas Howe

WTP operator Mark Buss

Twenty-five years of service to the city:

Senior motor equipment operator Daniel Marshall

WWTP operator Leonard Young

Thirty years of service to the city:

City comptroller Joan Cukierski

Senior motor equipment operator Steven Curro

WTP operator Allen Broski

Thirty-five years of service to the city:

Public works supervisor David Hines

Vote on this Story by clicking on the Icon


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment