Hamilton Democratic Committee seeks candidates

The Town of Hamilton Democratic Committee would like to hear from those who want to be considered for nomination for town offices to be elected Nov. 3. Positions to be elected in 2009 include supervisor, clerk and highway superintendent (all for two-year terms).

In addition, the town justice an two members of the town council will be elected for four-year terms.

The town clerk and highway superintendent are full-time salaried positions with benefits. Each requires specific skills, though the state does provide some additional training. The town clerk should have financial records-keeping, budget preparation, computer and office management skills. The highway superintendent should have experience with road maintenance and equipment and the ability to prepare budgets and reports, respond to emergencies and supervise other workers.

The town supervisor and the town council members are part-time positions. The supervisor is the town executive who oversees the town office and presides over the town council, which enacts the town budget and town ordinances. The supervisor also represents the town on the Madison County Board of Supervisors. He or she must attend monthly meetings in Wampsville on Tuesday mornings, as well as carry out committee assignments for the county.

The supervisor receives stipends from the town and the county, as well as benefits. The town council members receive a nominal stipend and meet at least monthly.

The town justice is part-time, receiving a stipend. While training in the law might be helpful, it is not required. New York state offers courses to train new and continuing justices.

Town of Hamilton Democrats will caucus at a publicly announced time during the summer to nominate candidates. Those wanting to be considered for nomination at that time should contact any member of the executive committee: Wanda Warren Berry, chairwoman; Jim Bona, vice chairman; Clara Lantz, treasurer; Deborah Sill Kliman, secretary; Charlie Naef, regional vice-chairman for the Madison County Democratic Committee, and Dorothy Usher Betz, state committee member.

For more information, visit hamiltondemocrats.org.

Wanda Warren Berry is chairwoman of the Town of Hamilton Democratic Committee.

Vote on this Story by clicking on the Icon


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment