Baldwinsville: Boards in brief

The town of Lysander will hold a public hearing regarding the transfer of development rights program at 7:30 p.m. Thursday Jan. 18.

The hearing is being held to hear feedback and comments from community members regarding the TDR program, which is designed to preserve open space, green space and agricultural land on the Cold Springs peninsula and control development.

Supervisor Barry Bullis said whether residents are for or against the program, all should share their opinions so the board can properly gauge the community's response.

"I think we really need to hear from the people who support it and those who don't support it," he said.

Officials anticipate the hearing will remain open for more than one meeting.

VB purchases property

Van Buren officials approved the purchase of a 2.14-acre property on Bennetts Road in Memphis.

The rural property, which is mostly wetlands, was purchased for $1,500 and will be used as a parking area to access the old Erie Canal.

"This is the only place you can access the old Erie Canal in Van Buren," said Supervisor Mary Crego.

BPD receives $20K

The Baldwinsville Police Department was awarded two grants worth $10,000 each from the New York State Division of Criminal Justices Services.

One grant will be used to purchase digital security equipment to enhance the security of the police department, parking area servicing the police department and part of the village hall. The other grant will be used to purchase patrol vehicle equipment.

VB holds organizational meeting

Van Buren officials held an organizational meeting on Tuesday Jan. 2.

James Bowes was re-appointed to the zoning board of appeals for a term that expires Dec. 31, 2011. James Virginia was appointed to the planning board for a term that expires Dec. 31, 2013. Virginia replaced Norma Goodman on the board as she resigned. Liz Bowers was appointed as the town of Van Buren historian, replacing Joseph Virkler.

The public safety committee includes Dan Quackenbush (chairman), Aries Scholten and Harold Johnson; parks, recreation and facilities committee includes Ron Dudzinski (chairman), Claude Sykes and Wendy Van Der Water; personnel committee includes Van Der Water (chairwoman), Dudzinski and Johnson; department of public works committee includes Scholten (chairman), Quackenbush and Sykes; planning and zoning committee includes Sykes (chairman), Van Der Water and Johnson; and the intermunicipal cable television committee includes Quackenbush.

Vote on this Story by clicking on the Icon


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment